Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Ireland's Gordon Davies Appointed International ISAF Judge

14th November 2013
Ireland's Gordon Davies Appointed International ISAF Judge

#internationaljudge – Gordon Davies is the newest addition to Ireland's line up of international sailing officials. The Bray Sailing Club member was appointed an International Judge (IJ) at this week's ISAF conference in Oman bringing the number of Irish World Sailing officials to 15.

Reappointed in Oman were Coleraine's Bill O'Hara (Judge), David Lovegrove (Race Officer), Con Murphy (Race Officer) bringing Ireland's total number to 8 IROs, 5 IJ and 2 IUs

With the Davies appointment there is now an IJ based on the east coast alongside the three Dublin based International Race Officers - David Lovergrove, London 2012's Jack Roy and Con Murphy.

As well as on the water duties, the local role of an IJ is often to assist event organisers in recruiting a jury (hopefully at low cost = reduced entry fees)

ISAF race officials have an obligation to train competitors and local race officials which in Davies case has involved rules training and mentoring up and coming judges and umpires.

Interestingly, in 2014 ISAF judges will have to sit a test for renewal. The first generation of IJs never passed a test, and some have difficulty with English so it is anticipated that there will be many judges dropping out of system in 2014.

The full list of Ireland's ISAF officials is below:

Crosbie Alan IRL 2002 International Race Officer
Crowley Peter IRL 2002 International Race Officer
Hutchieson Ronald IRL 1982 International Judge
Lovegrove David IRL 2005 International Race Officer
Murphy Con IRL 2009 International Race Officer
O'Connor Michael IRL 2007 International Umpire
O'Connor Michael IRL 2007 International Judge
O'Gorman Tony IRL 1997 International Race Officer
O'Gorman Tony IRL 1997 International Judge
O'Hara Bill IRL 2010 International Race Officer
O'Hara Bill IRL 2001 International Judge
O'Hara Bill IRL 2006 International Umpire
Roy Jack IRL 1998 International Race Officer
Wilkinson Jamie IRL 2007 International Race Officer



Published in World Sailing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating