Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

'Sails of Change'- A New Jules Verne Trophy Attempt By Dona Bertarelli & Yann Guichard

15th October 2021
The largest racing multihull ever built (37 metres), which has been renamed especially for this attempt: Sails of Change
The largest racing multihull ever built (37 metres), which has been renamed especially for this attempt: Sails of Change

Dona Bertarelli and Yann Guichard are once more set to take on the Jules Verne Trophy, held since 2017 by Francis Joyon and his crew in a time of 40d 23h 30' 30''. Remodelled for improved performance over the course of last winter, Sails of Change (ex-Spindrift 2) maxi-trimaran will be sailed by an 11-strong crew.

This will be Yann Guichard's fourth attempt as skipper on this round the world passage under sail, and he is taking on two challenges as he aims to both secure the Jules Verne Trophy and produce all their energy requirements self-sufficiently. Indeed, for the very first time, the whole journey will be undertaken with no auxiliary engine.

This new energy challenge accompanies a series of technical solutions introduced over the winter, which relate to the cockpit, aerodynamics and central hull, the latter having been shortened by three metres. This latest modification provides improved balance at the helm and reduces vibration aboard the largest racing multihull ever built (37 metres), which has been renamed especially for this attempt: Sails of Change.

The maxi-trimaran Sails of Change will set out from La Trinite-sur-Mer in south-west Brittany to make for the start line off Ushant as soon as there is a favourable weather window, with a standby commencing 1 November 2021.

The crew on the maxi-trimaran 'Sails of Change'The crew on the maxi-trimaran 'Sails of Change' for the 2021 Jules Verne record attempt

2021 crew on the maxi-trimaran 'Sails of Change'

  • Yann Guichard - skipper
  • Dona Bertarelli - on-board reporter
  • Benjamin Schwartz - navigator
  • Jacques Guichard - Watch leader
  • Xavier Revil - Watch leader
  • Jackson Bouttell - Watch leader, bowman
  • Duncan Spath - sailor
  • Thierry Chabagny - sailor
  • Gregory Gendron - sailor
  • Julien Villion - sailor
  • Yann Jauvin - sailor, bowman
  • Jean-Yves Bernot - onshore router
Published in Offshore Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating