Allianz and Afloat - Supporting Irish Boating

Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Sharkbait Sails in to the Lead at SB3 Eastern Champs

1st May 2011
Sharkbait Sails in to the Lead at SB3 Eastern Champs
Four points separate the top four boats going into today's second day of sailing in the SB3 Eastern Championship at Howth Yacht Club. Yesterday's opening races were sailed in fresh (but later moderating) north-easterlies, big swells and lumpy seas which contributed to several retirals during the three-race schedule writes Graham Smith.

The conditions didn't seem to bother the 30-strong fleet in Race 1 with all bar one boat crossing the finishing line, the honours going to Andrew Algeo's 'Flutter' from the Royal St.George YC. Another visitor, 'Sibelius' (K.Dorgan) from Carrickfergus took second ahead of another northerner, former Olympian Peter Kennedy of RNIYC in ''. Local interest was maintained by 'Sharkbait' (Duncan/Moran/Morris) by finishing 4th, a promising start for what would become an even better day.


Heavy going at the SB3 Easterns. More photos on the gallery here. Photo: Brian Carlin

Race 2 saw HYC's 'Sharkbait' take line honours ahead of Sean Craig's 'Yeti' (RSt.GYC) while 'Sibelius' came home third to keep the pressure on the leader. 'No Name' (Darren Martin of Strangford Lough) took 4th and Andrew Algeo's 5th kept him in touch after two races. Kennedy in '', however, was one of six boats forced to retire but unlike four boats which could not continue racing, he was able to return to the action for the third race.

In fact, he bounced back rather well with a 5th in that last race so he is not out of contention yet. Sean Craig's 'Yeti' went one better than in Race 2 with a bullet, this time changing places with Howth's leading contender 'Sharkbait'. 'Sibelius' and 'Flutter' continued to demonstrate admirable consistency, finishing 4th and 5th respectively.

It doesn't get much closer at the top of the leaderboard after PRO Harry Gallagher and his team got the three races completed and as the Championship reaches its half-way stage, HYC's 'Sharkbait' (Duncan/Moran/Morris) has the narrowest of margins over 'Sibelius' (K.Dorgan), with 'Flutter' (A.Algeo) two points adrift and 'Yeti' (S.Craig) another point behind, the reward for consistency so far.

Placings after 3 races at Howth Yacht Club

SB3 Easterns
Plc. Boat Owner Club Gross Disc Nett
1 Sharkbait Duncan/Moran HYC 7.00    
2 Sibeluis K Dorgan CSC 8.00    
3 Flutter A Algeo RStGYC 10.00    
4 Yeti S Craig RStGYC 11.00    
5 Pattersonlifts G Patterson RNIYC 28.00    
6 Seriously Bonkers Cuppage/Lee RStGYC 29.00    
7 Bad G Dowling RIYC 31.00    
8 Bluebird C MacAleavey NYC 31.00    
9 No Name D Martin SLYC 32.00    
10 Shockwave E Quinlan HYC 32.00    
11 Toucan 3 A Vaughan RNIYC 33.00    
12 Dinghy Supplies S Murphy HYC 36.00    
13 P Kennedy RNIYC 39.00    
14 Investwise May/Quinn HYC 41.00    
15 Sin A Bhuifl Guinness/Costigan HYC 43.00    
16 Lupi D'Irlanda M Sorgassi RStGYC 47.00    
17 Monkey Cassidy/Others HYC 53.00    
18 Mr Bump D Taylor CSC 60.00    
19 Ruby Blue A O'Connell RStGYC 61.00    
20 Quantitative Easing P McMahon HYC 62.00    
21 Kick'er Off Cook/Dicker RStGYC 62.00    
22 No Name D MacCauley CSC 66.00    
23 Sunday Brunch R Tate RStGYC 67.00    
24 Smoke on the Water B Hobby GISC 70.00    
25 Bomchickawahwah J O'Dricsoll RStGYC 72.00    
26 Seriously Blonde J Toettcher RStGYC 72.00    
27 Mahanama R Downing KYC 75.00    
28 Sirius Black Hudson/Leech ASC/LRYC 77.00    
29 Rubadubdub N Doherty NYC 90.00    
30 Sandy Bottom G Judge RStGYC 93.00
Published in SB20 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

SB20 (formerly Laser SB3) information

Designed by Tony Castro, the SB20 is a British-built strict one-design 6.15m keelboat conceived as a wide appeal, affordable, competitive sportsboat for teams of three or four sailors. It is also, arguably, the most successful sportsboat in the world with 800 owners competing regularly in a programme of exciting local, national and international events.

Originally known as the Laser SB3, the SB20 continues to deliver on its pioneering promise: a boat that is fun, fast and easy to sail by anyone of any age; the best value-for-money sportsboat in the market.

The Laser SB3 was designed by Castro and launched in 2002. In 2007 the Laser SB3 was awarded ISAF Recognised Status and the first World Championships were held in Ireland in 2008. In 2012, Tony Castro appointed a new builder, Sportsboat World. At this time, the Laser SB3 was renamed the SB20 and building was returned to the UK from Malaysia. The ethos of the class continues.

The boat is a strict one-design class, economic to buy and campaign, easy to sail with a simple deck layout and electric downwind performance delivered by the generous sail plan. The boat has a lifting keel, can easily be launched from a slipway and towed behind a family car.

Previous SB20 World Champions

2008 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Roger Gilbert, Roz Allen & Sarah Allan

Host National Yacht Club, Dun laoghaire, Ireland

2009 GBR: Craig Burlton, Stephen White, Adam Heeley

Host Clube Naval de Cascais, Cascais, Portugal

2010 GBR: Jerry Hill, Grant Rollerson, Joe Llewellyn

Host Circolo Vela Torbole, Lake Garda, Italy

2011 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Andy Ramus, Ian Mills & Emma Clarke

Host Royal Torbay Yacht Club, Torquay, UK

2012 GBR: Geoff Carveth, Lesley Dhonau, Roger Hudson & Asenathi Jim

Host Hamilton Island Yacht Club, Queensland, Australia

2013 GRB: Craig Burlton, Stephen White, Adam Heley Host COYCH Club, Hyeres, France

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Associations

isora sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Events 2021

vdlr21 sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton
quantum sidebutton
watson sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
wavelengths sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating