Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Kennedy's Ridgeway Team Win SB20 Nationals on Dublin Bay

1st July 2018
Team Ridgeway - Peter Kennedy (right), sailing with Stephen Kane (centre) and Hammy Baker from Strangford Lough are the 2018 SB20 National Champions Team Ridgeway - Peter Kennedy (right), sailing with Stephen Kane (centre) and Hammy Baker from Strangford Lough are the 2018 SB20 National Champions Photo:

In a series led from start to finish, Strangford Lough Olympian Peter Kennedy, sailing with Stephen Kane and Hammy Baker, was the winner of the SB20 National Championships at the National Yacht Club on Dublin Bay.

The former Flying Dutchman crew from both the Seoul and Barcelona Olympics, finished seven points clear of a Howth Yacht Club crew led by Cillian Dickson with Sam O'Byrne, Gordon Stirling and Diana Kissane. The result confounded pre-race predictions that favoured Dun Laoghaire crews to take the title.

The top Dun Laoghaire boat was Royal Irish Yacht Club skipper Jerry Dowling sailing with Stefan Hyde and Jimmy Dowling in third overall.

Download overall results below.

The National Yacht Club hosted event attracted 16 entries for the three–day sportsboat contest. Today's final two championship races, under race officer Colin McMullen, were set in the northern part of Dublin Bay and again sailed in light but steady northeasterly breezes.

SB20 Peter Kennedy 3187Team Ridgeway's scoresheet included three race wins Photo:

Published in SB20 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button
Who is Your Sailor Sailor of the Year 2019?
Total Votes:
First Vote:
Last Vote:

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating