Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Burke's First 40 Prima Forte is DBSC Cruisers Zero Winner

11th September 2021

Patrick Burke's First 40 Prima Forte was the Cruisers Zero race winner in Saturday's DBSC Cruiser 0 IRC race on Dublin Bay.

The Royal Irish yacht beat Vincent Farrell's Frist 40.7 Tsunami from the National Yacht Club. George Sisk's XP44 Wow was third. 

In advance of next weekend's Cruiser III championships – and a possible indication of form – Cartoon won the DBSC Cruiser 3 IRC division ahead of Starlet in second and Maranda in third. 

Scroll down for a fleet summary of results below

DBSC Results for 11/09/2021

Race 1

Cruiser 0 IRC: 1. Prima Forte, 2. Tsunami, 3. Wow

Cruiser 0 Echo: 1. Prima Forte, 2. Tsunami, 3. Lively Lady

Cruiser 1 IRC: 1. Bon Exemple, 2. Something Else, 3. Jalapeno

Cruiser 1 Echo: 1. Bon Exemple, 2. Jump the Gun, 3. Jalapeno

Cruiser 1 J109: 1. Something Else, 2. Jalapeno, 3. White Mischief

31.7 One Design: 1. Bluefin Two, 2. Prospect, 3. Attitude

31.7 Echo: 1. Bluefin Two, 2. Attitude, 3. Kernach

Cruiser 2 IRC: 1. Rupert, 2. Windjammer, 3. Leeuwin

Cruiser 2 Echo: 1. Leeuwin, 2. Peridot, 3. Springer

Cruiser 2 Sigma 33: 1. Rupert, 2. Leeuwin, 3. Gwili II

Cruiser 3 IRC: 1. Cartoon, 2. Starlet, 3. Maranda

Cruiser 3 Echo: 1. Cartoon, 2. Starlet, 3. Maranda

Cruiser 4 NS-IRC: 1. Boomerang, 2. RunAway

Cruiser 4 Echo: 1. Boomerang, 2. RunAway

Cruiser 5 NS-IRC: 1. Playtime, 2. Persistance, 3. Gung Ho

Cruiser 5 Echo: 1. Katienua, 2. Playtime, 3. Just Jasmin

SB20: 1. So Blue, 2. Carpe Diem, 3. Sneaky B

Flying 15: 1. Mike Wazowski, 2. Shane MacCarthy, 3. Match FFive

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Jester, 2. Jambiya, 3. Ram Jam

Sportsboat: 1. Jester, 2. Jambiya, 3. Ram Jam

Dragon: 1. Phantom, 2. D-cision

Ruffian: 1. Ruffles, 2. Bandit, 3. Ripples

Shipman: 1. Viking, 2. Invader, 3. Jo Slim 5

B211 One Design: 1. Small Wonder, 2. Beeswing, 3. Ventuno

B211 Echo: 1. Beeswing, 2. Small Wonder, 3. Ventuno

Glen: 1. Glenluce, 2. Glenroan, 3. Glenshesk

Squib/Mermaid: 1. Periquin, 2. Lively Lady, 3. Allsorts

PY Class: 1. Brendan Foley, 2. Richard Tate

IDRA 14: 1. Dart, 2. Slipway, 3. Dunmoanin

Laser Standard: 1. Robbie Walker, 2. Gavan Murphy, 3. Chris Arrowsmith

Laser Radial: 1. Conor Clancy, 2. John Sisk, 3. Stephen Farrell

Race 2

SB20: 1. Bad/Kilcullen, 2. SeaBiscuit, 3. So Blue

Flying 15: 1. Mike Wazowski, 2. Shane MacCarthy, 3. Ignis Caput II

Sportsboat VPRS: 1. Joyride, 2. Ram Jam, 3. Jambiya

Sportsboat: 1. Joyride, 2. Ram Jam, 3. Jambiya

Dragon: 1. Phantom, 2. D-cision

Ruffian: 1. Carmen, 2. Bandit, 3. Alias

B211 One Design: 1. Billy Whizz, 2. Small Wonder, 3. Beeswing

B211 Echo: 1. Ventuno, 2. Small Wonder, 3=. Billy Whizz, 3=. Betty B

Squib/Mermaid: 1. Lively Lady, 2. Aideen, 3. Allsorts

IDRA 14: 1. Dunmoanin, 2. Dart, 3. Doody

Laser Standard: 1. Conor Roche, 2. Chris Arrowsmith, 3. Gavan Murphy

Laser Radial: 1. Oisin Hughes, 2. Conor Clancy, 3. David Cahill

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.