Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Royal St. George's 'Aurelia' Wins Cruiser 0 DBSC Saturday Series Race

7th May 2022
Aurelia returns to DBSC racing with a win in the Cruiser 0 Saturday Series IRC Race   
Aurelia returns to DBSC racing with a win in the Cruiser 0 Saturday Series IRC Race Credit: Afloat

Royal St George Yacht Club skipper Chris Power Smith, won the Cruiser 0 DBSC Saturday Series Race in IRC today on the J122 Aurelia. The race which was nearly three hours long was sailed in light to medium winds against a flooding tide on Dublin Bay. It was very competitive both on the water and on the clock.

Royal Irish boats filled the rest of the podium in the AIB sponsored series. Second place was taken by Patrick Burke on the First 40 Prima Forte with Keith and Rodney Martin's First 44.7 Lively Lady in third.

Tim Kane skippering the new Extreme 37 Wow, with co-owner George Sisk onboard and a 'Happy 60th Birthday Balloon' flying from the backstay, celebrated his birthday in style by winning line honours by just over a minute from Aurelia.

Power Smith was competing for the first time in six years in DBSC after a long absence since winning the Cruiser 1 Series for two years in a row in his former J/109 Rollercoaster.

As Afloat previously reported, the Aurelia crew are preparing for the 240-mile Inishtearaght Race from Kinsale around the Blasket Island taking place on the 20th of May. The only Dublin boat entered in the race, they see it as the perfect warm-up race for the SSE Renewables Round Ireland Race starting from Wicklow on the 18th of June.

In an 11 boat race in the 'Cruisers 1 IRC fleet, also under Race officer Barry MacNeaney, Timothy Goodbody's RIYC J109 White Mischief won from John Hall's National Yacht Club J109 Something Else. Third was Colin Byrne's XP33, Bon Exemple.

James McCann's Mustang 30 Peridot was the Cruisers 2 IRC winner in a four-boat turnout from Lindsay J. Casey's Royal St. George J/97 Windjammer. Third was Casey's clubmate, Dick Lovegrove, in the Sigma 33 Rupert.

A similarly sized class, Class 3 'Cruisers 3 IRC, was won by Frazer Meredith's Asterix ahead of Myles Kelly's Maranda. Third was Kevin Byrne's Starlet. 

In the one-design divisions under Race Officer Barry O'Neill, Lee Statham won in a 16 boat Flying Fifteen fleet. Second was John Lavery's Phoenix, with third place going to David Gorman in new boat number 4099. 

Flying Fifteens exiting the leeward mark in Saturday's DBSC race on Dublin BayFlying Fifteens exiting the leeward mark in Saturday's DBSC race on Dublin Bay

In an eight boat Ruffian 23 fleet, David Meeke sailing Alias won from Michael Cultiffe's Ruffles. Third was Frank Bradley in Ripples.

Full results here

Race Results

You may need to scroll vertically and horizontally within the box to view the full results

Published in DBSC Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC) is one of Europe's biggest yacht racing clubs. It has almost sixteen hundred elected members. It presents more than 100 perpetual trophies each season some dating back to 1884. It provides weekly racing for upwards of 360 yachts, ranging from ocean-going forty footers to small dinghies for juniors.

Undaunted by austerity and encircling gloom, Dublin Bay Sailing Club (DBSC), supported by an institutional memory of one hundred and twenty-nine years of racing and having survived two world wars, a civil war and not to mention the nineteen-thirties depression, it continues to present its racing programme year after year as a cherished Dublin sporting institution.

The DBSC formula that, over the years, has worked very well for Dun Laoghaire sailors. As ever DBSC start racing at the end of April and finish at the end of September. The current commodore is Eddie Totterdell of the National Yacht Club.

The character of racing remains broadly the same in recent times, with starts and finishes at Club's two committee boats, one of them DBSC's new flagship, the Freebird. The latter will also service dinghy racing on Tuesdays and Saturdays. Having more in the way of creature comfort than the John T. Biggs, it has enabled the dinghy sub-committee to attract a regular team to manage its races, very much as happened in the case of MacLir and more recently with the Spirit of the Irish. The expectation is that this will raise the quality of dinghy race management, which, operating as it did on a class quota system, had tended to suffer from a lack of continuity.