Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Irish Rowing European Championships Selections Made for Junior, U23 & Senior 2020

27th July 2020
Rowing teams have been announced for German and Polish events this autumn Rowing teams have been announced for German and Polish events this autumn

Following the recent selection trials at the National Rowing Centre, Rowing Ireland has announced the following selections for the Junior, U23 and Senior 2020 European Championship events to be held this autumn.

The selections were made by Ireland's High-Performance Director Antonio Maurogiovanni, who commented "We have seen very strong performances across all the grades, especially considering the challenging season we have experienced"

Maurogiovanni believes he has a strong team that can compete at each level but just as importantly build for the future success of our sport on the international stage.

Rowing Ireland High Performance Director Antonio Maurogiovanni Rowing Ireland High Performance Director Antonio Maurogiovanni

U23 European Rowing Championships (Duisburg, Germany - 5-6 September)

▪ Ronan Byrne (UCC)
▪ Daire Lynch (Clonmel)
▪ John Kearney (Cork)
▪ Margaret Cremen (UCC)
▪ Aoife Casey (UCC)
▪ Tara Hanlon (UCC)
▪ Emily Hegarty (UCC)
BW1x/W2- reserve
▪ Claire Feerick (Neptune)
▪ Alex Byrne (UCC)
▪ Jack Dorney (Shandon)
▪ Matthew Gallagher (St Josephs)
▪ Ross Corrigan (Queens)
▪ Cox: Leah O’ Regan (Shandon)
▪ Eoin Gaffney (Shandon)
▪ Hugh Moore (Queens)
▪ Will Ronayne (UCC)
▪ Hugh Sutton (UCC)
▪ Sam O’ Neill (NUIG)
▪ Lydia Heaphy (UCC)
▪ Cliodhna Nolan (NUIG)
Junior European Rowing Championships (Belgrade, Serbia - 26-27 September)
▪ Molly Curry (CGS)
▪ Aoife Moloney (Commercial)
▪ Andrew Sheehan (Lee)
▪ Tom Kelly (Kenmare)
▪ Adam Murphy (Shandon)
▪ Brian Colsh (Sligo)
JW1x squad (TBC)
▪ Holly Davis (Lee Valley)
▪ Alison Bergin (Fermoy)

European Rowing Championships (Poznan, Poland – 9-11 October)

▪ Sanita Puspure (OC)
▪ Ronan Byrne (UCC)
▪ Daire Lynch (Clonmel)
M1x/M2x Reserve
▪ John Kearney (Cork)
▪ Fiona Murtagh (NUIG)
▪ Aileen Crowley (OC)
▪ Eimear Lambe (OC)
▪ Aifric Keogh (UCC)
▪ Tara Hanlon (UCC)
▪ Emily Hegarty (UCC)

▪ Fintan McCarthy (Skibbereen)
▪ Margaret Cremen (UCC)
▪ Aoife Casey (UCC)

Published in Rowing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button