Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Sligo Surfers Tops at Rossnowlagh

18th October 2010
Sligo Surfers Tops at Rossnowlagh

Sligo have been crowned champions of 2010 after a hard-fought final at the Rossnowlagh Intercounties over the weekend.

The Sligo team's combination of veterans (David O'Donnell, Kerry Larkin) and juniors (Gearoid McDaid and Aaron O'Hare) was more than a match for Donegal's all-youth squad - which included the competition's youngest ever finalist, 10-year-old Jack Scott.

Indeed, it was the killer combination of McDaid and O'Hare - who have faced each other at every U14 final this year - that left 'the forgotten county' playing catch-up, despite a solid challenge by Donegal captain James Garvey.

O'Hare claimed first place, with McDaud second and O'Donnell in fifth, which was more than enough to clinch the Vinny Britton Cup for their county.

Meanwhile, James Garvey was presented with the Rossnowlagh Surf Club person of the year award for his contributions over the past season.

The Castlederg 16-year-old will also be featured in RTÉ's Mission Beach USA, which follows a group of young Irish surfers training with lifeguards in Florida. The programme will be broadcast on Monday 25 October at 5pm.

Published in Surfing
MacDara Conroy

About The Author

MacDara Conroy

Email The Author

MacDara Conroy is a contributor covering all things on the water, from boating and wildlife to science and business

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button