Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

O'Neill and O'Hara Win IDRA 14 Nationals

27th August 2010
O'Neill and O'Hara Win IDRA 14 Nationals

28 boats made the 2010 IDRA 14 dinghy national championships something of a class record when they set sail at Lough Ree YC. The previous best was 26 in 2006). All six championship races and the crew's race were completed. Pat O'Neill and Jim O'Hara from Clontarf Yacht and Boat Club were first overall sailing Delos II. A special (liquid!) prize was awarded to 14/4 'Dusk' (Gary & Andy Sargent), whose rudder stock collapsed in very heavy winds during the first race. They took advantage of the Race Officer's postponement of the second race to travel back to Dublin, make a new stock, and get back to LRYC in time to come second in the event. Full results below:

IDRA 14ft CLASS NATIONAL C'SHIP – Lough Ree YC 11/14th Aug 2010

Overall Results:

Gold Fleet
1st 14/15 'Delos II' Pat O'Neill & Jim O'Hara CY&BC
2nd 14/4 'Dusk' Gary & Andy Sargent CY&BC/HYC
3rd 14/125 'Slipstream' Alan Henry & Simon Revill SDC/HYC
Silver Fleet
1st 14/161 'Dart' Pierre Long & David Long DMYC
2nd 14/122 'Diane' Fergal O'Flaherty & Brian Murphy DMYC
3rd 14/136 'Sea Urchin IV' Gordon Stirling & Barra O'Donoghue CY&BC

Afloat Magazine Youth C'ship Trophy
14/136 'Sea Urchin IV' Gordon Stirling & Barra O'Donoghue CY&BC
Transom Trophy
14/1 'Error' Jim Lambkin & Wendy Rudd SDC
Mullingar Trophy
14/124 'Squalls' Stephen Harrison & Stephen Johnston DMYC

Endeavour Trophy
14/107 'Spray' Joanne Sheehan & Therese Clarke RStGYC
'De Maast' Trophy
14/6 'Dolphin' Hugh McNally & Ian Byrne SDC

Old Oak Trophy
14/138 'Sapphire' Lorcan O'Sullivan & Deirdre Duignan DMYC

Crew's Race Trophy
1st 14/125 'Slipstream' Simon Revill HYC
2nd 14/163 'Second Chance' Gerard O'Sullivan SDC

Individual Race Prizes
Race 1 14/15 'Delos II' Pat O'Neill & J. O'Hara CY&BC
Race 2 14/38 'Starfish' Alan Car & Aoibhin de Burca SDC
Race 3 14/125 'Slipstream' Alan Henry & Simon Revill SDC
Race 4 14/4 'Dusk' Gary Sargent & Andy Sargent CY&BC
Race 5 14/143 'Chaos' Julie Ascoop & Heather Keenan CY&BC
Race 6 14/140 'Dunmoanin' Frank Hamilton & Marjo Moonen DMYC





Published in Racing Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button