Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

ICRA Extends 2021 National Championships Early Bird Entry Rate

22nd June 2021
Royal Cork J/109 cruiser-racer Jelly Baby in action in Cork Harbour
Royal Cork J/109 cruiser-racer Jelly Baby in action in Cork Harbour Credit: Bob Bateman

With several smaller regattas already being held, it looks increasing likely that the ICRA National Championships will be the major event of the 2021 season.

ICRA is encouraging competitors to enter their boats online for the ICRA National Championships hosted by National Yacht Club on 3rd to 5th September, and the association has have extended the early bird rate with an official change to the Notice of Race to allow as many competitors as possible to avail of this.

Entries can be made on-line at before 20 August 2021

The three-day Championships is being held in Dun Laoghaire and Dublin Bay covering offshore, inshore and white sail racing.

The National Yacht Club is the venue for September's ICRA National Championships at Dun LaoghaireThe National Yacht Club is the venue for September's ICRA National Championships at Dun Laoghaire
As Afloat previously reported, three fleets will be accommodated at the event covering

  • Fleet 0 - Class 0
  • Fleet 1 - Class 1 and 2
  • Fleet 2 - Class 3 and Corinthians Cup, White Sails classes

The ICRA entry fees are as follows:

Up to 11th July:


Boats rating 0.895 and under:


Boats rating between 0.896 and 0.985:


Boats rating 0.986 and above:


After 11th July:


All boats:


Published in ICRA
David Cullen

About The Author

David Cullen

Email The Author

Howth Yacht Club sailor Dave Cullen is the 2018 Half Ton Classic Cup World Champion. He is a member of the Irish Cruiser Racing Association National Committee.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven't put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full-time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

The Irish Cruiser Racing Association (ICRA) Information

The creation of the Irish Cruiser Racing Association (ICRA) began in a very low key way in the autumn of 2002 with an exploratory meeting between Denis Kiely, Jim Donegan and Fintan Cairns in the Granville Hotel in Waterford, and the first conference was held in February 2003 in Kilkenny.

While numbers of cruiser-racers were large, their specific locations were widespread, but there was simply no denying the numerical strength and majority power of the Cork-Dublin axis. To get what was then a very novel concept up and running, this strength of numbers had to be acknowledged, and the first National Championship in 2003 reflected this, as it was staged in Howth.

ICRA was run by a dedicated group of volunteers each of whom brought their special talents to the organisation. Jim Donegan, the elder statesman, was so much more interested in the wellbeing of the new organisation than in personal advancement that he insisted on Fintan Cairns being the first Commodore, while the distinguished Cork sailor was more than content to be Vice Commodore.

ICRA National Championships

Initially, the highlight of the ICRA season was the National Championship, which is essentially self-limiting, as it is restricted to boats which have or would be eligible for an IRC Rating. Boats not actually rated but eligible were catered for by ICRA’s ace number-cruncher Denis Kiely, who took Ireland’s long-established native rating system ECHO to new heights, thereby providing for extra entries which brought fleet numbers at most annual national championships to comfortably above the hundred mark, particularly at the height of the boom years. 

ICRA Boat of the Year (Winners 2004-2019)