Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Displaying items by tag: Chris Moore

Dublin Bay Sailing Club Commodore Chris Moore outlines the club's 2017 season programme that gets underway on April 25th and includes new coastal races and a 'grand finale' planned for September

It was in July 2012, with wide stretches of the Bay unavailable to us because of the ISAF worlds, that the Club first introduced coastal racing into its programme. Its objective was modest enough – to leave the Bay clear for a major world sailing event while not depriving DBSC sailors of their customary Saturday afternoons’ sailing.

As it happened, the innovation proved very popular with most of the membership, even though the courses involved no more than a race to the Burford Bank and or a run down to Killiney Bay through the Muglins Sound.

This year, the Bay being thankfully free of international competitions, there is an opportunity to present the Club’s keelboat fleets with much more extensive and varied coastal courses. Many DBSC boats, in fact, are ocean races racers capable of more challenging racing than what they are normally experience inshore. Accordingly, Tim Goodbody, with the Committee’s support, has built on the former coastal racing courses and planned for this season a set of three really ambitious coastal races, extending to the outfall buoys on the Kish bank and down to the Moulditch bank south-east of Greystones.

dbsc yearbookThe 2017 DBSC Yearbook features the ICRA Boat of the Year, Joker II on the front cover

Races will start from a committee vessel and boats will round DBSC marks before proceeding out of the normal racing area. There will be a range of courses for boats of various size and characteristics and, of course, if conditions prove overly challenging, there can always be a fall-back on platonic courses. The new coastal races will be shown on a separate course card. We’re designating them “DBSC Royal Alfred Courses.” Prizes will be Royal Alfred cups or to be awarded at the usual November prize giving.

We don’t intend to print the course card and include it in the usual membership pack. Instead, it will be shown on the Club’s web site and distributed to members through e-mail to the class captains. It’s a foretaste of how things are likely to develop in the future. Printing and distributing course cards is not cheap- the paper used is horrendously expensive- and obviously we’ll have to go like the rest of the world and depend on the internet for most of our communications. We appreciate that there are people who regard the membership pack as a physical link with DBSC - or, indeed, as a marketing tool, as someone put it - but there are no plans to abandon the yearbook. Quite the reverse. In fact we might endeavour to expand it.

Coastal race start times will be more than an hour earlier than is customary and we may extend the time limit, depending on weather forecasts.

On ECHO handicaps, about which we talked to the classes over the winter, current plans are to use the Progressive ECHO version for the 2017 season. Various studies have shown that, effectively, there is no little or no difference in outcome between the “Progressive” and the “classical” versions, but the former has the merit of increased transparency: people will be able to see much earlier any change in a boat’s performance

There have been problems with dinghy week-end racing. Last year we tried, with no success, running races on Sundays. We have talked to dinghy representatives and another proposal emerged - to run dinghy races on the Water Wag model, inside the Harbour, on twelve nominated Saturday afternoons. Race management will be from a rib. They’ll be regular, official DBSC races, funded by the Club but controlled by the dinghies themselves.

In conclusion, may I draw attention to the last Saturday races? This will be a sort of grand finale to the season, with earlier starts and special prizes presented after racing in one of the Clubs. All classes will be catered for, including dinghies. Plans are not yet complete but we hope to make an occasion of it.

That said, I wish members fair winds and enjoyable racing in 2017.

Chris Moore, Commodore

This article was first published as a foreword to the 2017 DBSC Yearbook 

Published in DBSC

The Half Ton Class was created by the Offshore Racing Council for boats within the racing band not exceeding 22'-0". The ORC decided that the rule should "....permit the development of seaworthy offshore racing yachts...The Council will endeavour to protect the majority of the existing IOR fleet from rapid obsolescence caused by ....developments which produce increased performance without corresponding changes in ratings..."

When first introduced the IOR rule was perfectly adequate for rating boats in existence at that time. However yacht designers naturally examined the rule to seize upon any advantage they could find, the most noticeable of which has been a reduction in displacement and a return to fractional rigs.

After 1993, when the IOR Mk.III rule reached it termination due to lack of people building new boats, the rule was replaced by the CHS (Channel) Handicap system which in turn developed into the IRC system now used.

The IRC handicap system operates by a secret formula which tries to develop boats which are 'Cruising type' of relatively heavy boats with good internal accommodation. It tends to penalise boats with excessive stability or excessive sail area.


The most significant events for the Half Ton Class has been the annual Half Ton Cup which was sailed under the IOR rules until 1993. More recently this has been replaced with the Half Ton Classics Cup. The venue of the event moved from continent to continent with over-representation on French or British ports. In later years the event is held biennially. Initially, it was proposed to hold events in Ireland, Britain and France by rotation. However, it was the Belgians who took the ball and ran with it. The Class is now managed from Belgium. 

At A Glance – Half Ton Classics Cup Winners

  • 2017 – Kinsale – Swuzzlebubble – Phil Plumtree – Farr 1977
  • 2016 – Falmouth – Swuzzlebubble – Greg Peck – Farr 1977
  • 2015 – Nieuwport – Checkmate XV – David Cullen – Humphreys 1985
  • 2014 – St Quay Portrieux – Swuzzlebubble – Peter Morton – Farr 1977
  • 2013 – Boulogne – Checkmate XV – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1985
  • 2011 – Cowes – Chimp – Michael Kershaw – Berret 1978
  • 2009 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978
  • 2007 – Dun Laoghaire – Henri-Lloyd Harmony – Nigel Biggs – Humphreys 1980~
  • 2005 – Dinard – Gingko – Patrick Lobrichon – Mauric 1968
  • 2003 – Nieuwpoort – Général Tapioca – Philippe Pilate – Berret 1978

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

mgm sidebutton
bjmarine sidebutton
xyachts sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events

tokyo sidebutton
sovscup sidebutton
vdlr sidebutton

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating