Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

In association with ISA Logo Irish Sailing

Dorans Win SB20 Lough Derg Freshwater Regatta

14th October 2019
Rear View: Sharkbait with Team Ted hunting Martin McNamara, Luke Groarke & Jude Kilmartin Rear View: Sharkbait with Team Ted hunting Martin McNamara, Luke Groarke & Jude Kilmartin Photo: Jude Kilmartin/Donie Herraghty

There was fun on and off the water for SB20s at the Freshwater Keelboat Regatta season finale in Lough Derg Yacht Club last weekend writes Class President John Malone.

Fabulous weather, great race management lead by Geoff O'Donoghue and legendary hospitality in the Whiskey Still and dinner in LDYC on sat night.

It was great to see six all new crews in the fleet racing at their 1st open event. Strictly Business (Eoin Leahy, Donie Herraghty & Emmet Ryan) was the top boat of the new crews managing to score a 3rd in the Penultimate on Sunday morning & 6th overall - a team to watch next season - Eoin was SB20 national champion in the classes debut season in Ireland, he has now switched from middle to the back of the boat. Donie is a previous SB20 owner with Martin McNamara who now has taken the reigns of Sharkbait with co-owner Jude Kilmartin.

SB20 Dorans1st Overall, Low Fly/3426 Paul Doran, Philip Doran, John Malone (SB20 President), Bella Morehead, Tadg Murphy (LDYC Commodore), Simon Doran

Lough Derg now has seven boats being sailed out of 3 sailing centres - Domineer, Mount Shannon & Garrykennedy, Sonic Boom/3309/Iniscealtra Sailing Club helmed by Andrew Decan & crewed by McElligott Brothers Brian and Conor finished in 8th Overall and were the Top ranking boat from Lough Derg. Scorpio Beg/3475 Sailed by Dominic O'Sullivan, B Bryce and D Coleman were leading this local battle overnight but were unfortunate to find rig damage on Sunday morning following a Rig Tangle with Strictly Business at Leeward Mark were 4 Boats rafted up at a leeward mark with less than enough room for all to round in comfort.

Silver prize SB20Silver Champion was the Ladies Team Lia, Joe Gilmartin (Vice Commodore LDYC), Flore Dion, Sarah Byrne (holding Cup), Elaine Malcolm, Tadg Murphy (LDYC Commodore)

The Winter Series in Lough Ree Yacht Club will commence in November, with eight boats expected to be based there in 2020

Overall results attached below

Published in SB20 Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Featured Sailing School

INSS sidebutton

Featured Clubs

dbsc mainbutton
Howth Yacht Club
Kinsale Yacht Club
National Yacht Club
Royal Cork Yacht Club
Royal Irish Yacht club
Royal Saint George Yacht Club

Featured Brokers

leinster sidebutton

Featured Webcams

Featured Car Brands

subaru sidebutton

Featured Associations

ISA sidebutton
isora sidebutton

Featured Events 2020

Featured Chandleries

CHMarine Afloat logo
osm sidebutton
viking sidebutton

Featured Sailmakers

northsails sidebutton
uksails sidebutton

Featured Marinas

dlmarina sidebutton

Featured Blogs

W M Nixon - Sailing on Saturday
podcast sidebutton
mansfield sidebutton
BSB sidebutton
sellingboat sidebutton

Please show your support for Afloat by donating