Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

First 31.7 Avalon Leads into Final Race of DBSC Turkey Shoot

14th December 2022
There was a strong turnout for the penultimate race of the AIB-sponsored DBSC Turkey Shoot Racing Series on Dublin Bay that saw the fleet race to Dalkey Island
There was a strong turnout for the penultimate race of the AIB-sponsored DBSC Turkey Shoot Racing Series on Dublin Bay that saw the fleet race to Dalkey Island Credit: Chris Herbert

In a good spread of boat types, the First 31.7 Avalon leads by a single point into Sunday's final race of the AIB-sponsored DBSC Turkey Shoot Series on Dublin Bay

Avalon is on 57 points to be top of the 78-boat mixed cruiser fleet. The J97 Windjammer takes second place with third overall, the 1720 sportsboat, Spurs on 59 points.

With only two points separating the top three boats overall going into the seventh race, the series still has a turkey up for grabs.

Last Sunday's sixth race saw competitors clearing the decks of snow at Dun Laoghaire Marina before racing started in winter sunshine just after 10 am off Dun Laoghaire Harbour.

The sixth race saw the fleet sail down to Dalkey Island and back to Dun Laoghaire Harbour and was won by the Bavaria 35 Match Just Jasmin, with the Sunfast 32 Kamikaze second and the J109 Joker II in third.

Overall results and race six results are downloadable below.

The always lively DBSC Turkey Shoot Series prizegiving will be held this Sunday after racing at the Royal Irish Yacht Club. Race organiser Fintan Cairns has told competitors: "If there is no sailing - very early to tell yet - prizegiving and festivities, draws, craic etc. will commence at 12.30. Please make all effort to be there, as I will not be going home with any prizes!".

Published in Turkey Shoot Team

About The Author Team

Email The Author is Ireland's dedicated marine journalism team.

Have you got a story for our reporters? Email us here.

We've got a favour to ask

More people are reading than ever thanks to the power of the internet but we're in stormy seas because advertising revenues across the media are falling fast. Unlike many news sites, we haven’t put up a paywall because we want to keep our marine journalism open. is Ireland's only full–time marine journalism team and it takes time, money and hard work to produce our content.

So you can see why we need to ask for your help.

If everyone chipped in, we can enhance our coverage and our future would be more secure. You can help us through a small donation. Thank you.

Direct Donation to Afloat button

Dublin Bay Sailing Club Turkey Shoot Winter Series

Dublin Bay Sailing Club's Turkey Shoot Series reached its 20th year in 2020.

The popular yacht series racing provides winter-racing for all the sailing clubs on the southside of Dublin Bay in the run-up to Christmas.

It regularly attracts a fleet of up to 70 boats of different shapes and sizes from all four yachts clubs at Dun Laoghaire: The National Yacht Club, The Royal St. George Yacht Club, The Royal Irish Yacht Club and the Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club as well as other clubs such as Sailing in Dublin. Typically the event is hosted by each club in rotation.

The series has a short, sharp format for racing that starts at approximately 10 am and concludes around noon. The event was the brainchild of former DBSC Commodore Fintan Cairns to give the club year-round racing on the Bay thanks to the arrival of the marina at Dun Laoghaire in 2001. Cairns, an IRC racer himself, continues to run the series each winter.

Typically, racing features separate starts for different cruiser-racers but in fact, any type of boat is allowed to participate, even those yachts that do not normally race are encouraged to do so.

Turkey Shoot results are calculated under a modified ECHO handicap system and there can be a fun aspect to some of the scoring in keeping with the Christmas spirit of the occasion.

As a result, the Turkey Shoot often receives entries from boats as large as Beneteau 50 footers and one designs as small as 20-foot flying Fifteens, all competing over the same course.

It also has legendary weekly prizegivings in the host waterfront yacht clubs immediately after racing. There are fun prizes and overall prizes based on series results.

Regular updates and DBSC Turkey Shoot Results are published on Afloat each week as the series progresses.


Cruisers, cruising boats, one-designs and boats that do not normally race are very welcome. Boats range in size from ocean-going cruisers at 60 and 60 feet right down to small one-design keelboats such as 20-foot Flying Fifteens. A listing of boats for different starts is announced on Channel 74 before racing each week.

Each winter from the first Sunday in November until the last week before Christmas.

Usually no more than two hours. The racecourse time limit is 12.30 hours.

Between six and eight with one or two discards applied.

Racing is organised by Dublin Bay Sailing Club and the Series is rotated across different waterfront yacht clubs for the popular after race party and prizegiving. The waterfront clubs are National Yacht Club (NYC), Royal Irish Yacht Club (RIYC), Royal St George Yacht Club (RSGYC) and Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club (DMYC).

© Afloat 2020