Ireland's sailing, boating & maritime magazine

Dun Laoghaire Regatta: Coastal Cruisers News and Results
Co-skipper Dave Cullen steers the First 50 Checkmate XX from Howth Yacht Club to victory at Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta in the offshore class
Checkmate XX won in the offshore class in Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta on Sunday (9 July), making it a double of offshore wins in the Sovereign and VDLR this season. Prior to the event, asked co-skipper Nigel Biggs about…
Nigel Biggs and Dave Cullen of Howth with the First 50 Checkmate XX were crowned winners of the Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta Offshore fleet
In many ways, the competition on the Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta offshore race series was the most interesting of all even with only three races, as the limited number of contests was more than offset by the variety in size…
J/109 Mojito (Vicky Cox & Peter Dunlop, Pwllheli SC) were the second race winners in the offshore class of Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta
With thirty offshore miles to race and the finishers ranging in size from 30ft to 50ft, it was no surprise that the finish times between the Dun Laoghaire pierheads for the Offshore Class were spread over an hour in Saturday's Volvo…
Frank Whelan's big canting-keel Elliott 57 Opal from Greystones took line honours in the 30-mile offshore
Scotland's leading offshore skipper Jonathan Anderson seems to have gone native in Dun Laoghaire, as he registers himself and his J/122 El Gran Senor as racing for the Royal Irish YC in the crack Offshore Class of the 2023 Volvo…
Royal Irish JPK 10.80, Rockabill VI won the race, the Lyver Trophy and RORC medallion
Royal Irish Yacht Club's Paul O'Higgins sailing Rockabill VI won Saturday's 12-hour Lyver Trophy Race from Holyhead to Dun Laoghaire.  The line honours winner in the tough test across the Irish Sea was Andrew & Sam Hall's J125 Jackknife. The fixture was also…
First 50 Checkmate XX (Nigel Biggs and Dave Cullen) is expected to be a the top of the Coastal Division of the Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta on Thursday
Two Irish hopes in this month's prestigious Rolex Fastnet Race from Cowes will compete first this week in a 20-boat Coastal Class at Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta (VDLR). Pundits say the pre-event favourite must be the First 50 Checkmate XX, fresh from…
ISORA champion, the J109 Mojito from Pwllheli Sailing Club in North Wales, competes this Saturday in the annual RORC Lyver Race from Holyhead to Dun Laoghaire
Saturday's Lyver Trophy Race Holyhead to Dun Laoghaire Offshore Race marks the arrival of competitors from across the Irish Sea for next week's big one, the 350-boat Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta.  With a declared entry of 18 boats, the weekend…

Dun Laoghaire Regatta 2023 Coastal Class

Two Irish hopes in the 2023 Fastnet Race from Cowes will compete first in a 20-boat Coastal Class at July's Volvo Dun Laoghaire Regatta (VDLR).

Pre-event favourites must be the First 50 Checkmate XX, fresh from Sovereign's Cup victory (three wins from four races sailed) and the Grand Soleil 44 Samatom.

Four races and one discard for the coastal division will be under International Race Officer Con Murphy.

The course will be decided on the race day and communicated to each skipper via a dedicated Offshore WhatsApp group at least one hour before the start. 

The finish will be between the Pier Ends at the Dun Laoghaire Harbour entrance. The finishing time will be taken from the Yellowbrick tracker system.

The class will be the first to start on Thursday, with a warning signal at 1425 and 0955 on Friday. Coastal starts at 1055 on Saturday and 0955 on Sunday. 

The course will use DBSC Marks, Volvo Yellow inflatable Top Hat and Shipping Navigation Marks.

Dun Laoghaire Regatta 2023 Coastal Class Entries

GBR 8859R Jackknife J125 Andrew Hall Pwllheli
GBR 8911R Jezebel J111 1.093 Cris Miles Pwllheli Sailing Club
IRL 3435 Albireo 0.928 David Simpson RIYC
IRL 9898 Indecision J109 1.007 Declan Hayes RIYC
IRL 811 RAPTOR 1.007 Fintan Cairns RIYC
GER 6577 Opal 1.432 Frank Whelan GSC
GBR 9740R SLOOP JOHN T SWAN 40 Iain Thomson
IRL 1507 1.057 James Tyrrell ASC
IRL 1129 Jump The Gun J109 1.005 John M Kelly RIYC
GBR 7536R Hot Cookie Sunfast 3600 John O'Gorman NYC
IRL 3471 Black Velvet 0.979 Leslie Parnell RIYC
IRL 4007 Tsunami First 40.7 Michelle Farreall National Yacht Club
IRL 66 Checkmate XX 1.115 Nigel BIGGS HYC
GBR 6695R Wild Haggis Farr 30 1.060 Nigel Ingram Holyhead
GBR 9496T Bojangles J109 0.999 Paul HAMPSON Liverpool Yacht Club
IRL 1367 Boomerang Beneteau 36.7 0.997 Paul Kirwan
GBR 8992R Lightning Farr 30 1.074 Paul Sutton Holyhead Sailing Club
GBR 9047R Mojito J109 Peter Dunlop Pwllheli SC - RDYC
GBR 9244R Samatom Grand Soleil 44R 1.134 Robert Rendell HYC
IRL 44444 Magic Touch 0.979 Steve Hayes GSC
IRL 3317 Scotia First 31.7 0.930 Terence Fair Ballyholme yacht club
GBR 5373 Honey Bee Hunter HB31 0.900 William Partington Pwllheli Sailing Club / SCYC