#JeanieReturns – Replica 19th century barque Jeanie Johnston has finally returned to her dedicated Dublin Liffey berth along Custom House Quay having had some delays following essential maintenance in a drydock, writes Jehan Ashmore.
The good news is that guided tours of the famine emigrant museum tallship will reopen from 1100 am tomorrow (Friday 7 November). For further information click HERE.
In recent days the barque has been undergoing finishing touches while at a temporary lay-by berth close to the East Link Bridge.
Beforehand the Tralee registered replica had been dry-docked for essential maintenance having entered the Dublin Graving Docks Ltd facility almost a month ago. The shiprepair and conversion business faces closure due to plans to redevelop Alexandra Basin by Dublin Port Company.
The work on the barque was her third and also the most extensive carried out in the shiprepair and conversion facility since her purchase more than a decade ago by the Dublin Docklands Development Authority (DDDA).
Sister tugs Beaufort and Shackleton from Dublin Port Company repeated the exercise of returning the Jeanie Johnston to her city-centre berth at Dublin City Moorings. This involved a short tow upriver having transited through the East-Link toll lift-bridge and the Samuel Beckett swing bridge.
The pontoon facility at Custom House Quay was installed by the DDDA as part of a river Liffey rejuvenation project to attract visiting yachts. In addition to generating waterborne activity in an attempt to emulate other European capitals which have a vibrant river or waterfront setting.